top of page

Tanner Jones tops Legends field Sunday at Evergreen Raceway



(Butler Township, PA 7-21-24): Evergreen Raceway played host to the INEX Legends on Sunday afternoon and with national points on the line along with an incentive of additional lap money, a solid field of cars signed in for the 25-lap feature.

Yet, despite a great line-up of competitors, none could match up to that of winner Tanner Jones of Glen Gardner, NJ, who was able to lead from start to finish.

Tanner, who drew the pole, wasted no time in grabbing the lead once the race commenced and would leave his counterparts to fight for second on back.

And, indeed it was a great ongoing battle for the runner-up spot throughout the event. Rodney Dowless Jr., held the position early on but by mid-race was battling back and forth with the likes of Brad Lowmaster, Jeffery Farrugia and Kevin Nowak.

Nowak, who was the most recent Evergreen Legends winner on June 9, hustled his way to second after a late, hard-fought duel with Dowless. However, once he secured that spot there was no advancing at the leader as Jones was not to be denied and held solid in attaining his first ever victory at Evergreen.

After Nowak and Dowless it was Farruggia and Lowmaster rounding out the top five. 

For Noah “Chub” Jensen of Hobby, it was no contest in his winning for the second time this season with the Rotten-and-Forgotten as he blistered the field in a positively dominating run, besting the pack by better than a half track at the checkers.

Starting fourth, Jensen raced to the front after getting by his brother, Jon Jensen, after brief side-by-side battle that concluded with the lead changing hands at the start of lap seven.

The rest of the way N. Jensen stretched out his advantage and he cruised to his division leading seventh win. The Jensen clan would fill out the top five also with Sam, Tom, Dan and Jon rounding out the top five.

In the Novice class Riley Titus of Berwick unveiled a brand new race car and its first time in competition also produced his first time in Victory Lane.

Titus inherited the top spot after early leader Sarabeth Mesko and Lexus Kutz tangled on lap four. Titus was close behind but able to avoid the incident and was then elevated to the lead afterwards.

From there on he remained on point with consistent and steady laps en route to his memorable career first win. Caitlyn Makarewicz was keeping a close pace and scored the runner-up spot for the second time in the past three races.

The day concluded with a 100-lap Enduro and amazingly the race went nonstop and just as amazing was the run turned in by Mark Spencer of Berwick who stayed out front the entire time and claimed his second Enduro win of the year.

Spencer was very precise in his navigation of getting by traffic lap after lap and by the time he reached the checkers, he was the only car that competed the distance, besting runner-up Dan Cascioli by one lap.

Cascioli, despite being one lap down at the finish, did a great job of keeping Spencer in his sights for the majority of the race and did not fall off the lead lap until a few circuits to go.

Steven Brooks was third and did a good job of running in the top five over the entire second half. Jimmy Ayre was fourth and also a front runner the entire time while Adam Kratzer ran a steady race to compete the top five.


Legends feature finish (25 laps): 1. Tanner Jones, 2. Kevin Nowak, 3. Rodney Dowless Jr., 4. Jeffery Farruggia, 5. Brad Lowmaster, 6. Charlie Hodge, 7. Philip Alaimo V, 8. Joey Przybylinski, 9. Jack Gerzabek, 10. Chevy Rommeney, 11. Michael Metcalf, 12. Kevin Ohrnberger, 13. Ed Stadtlander, 14. Justin Teresak, 15. Nick Hodge, 16. Cliff Shaw Jr., 17. Michael Simagra


Rotten-and-Forgotten feature finish (25 laps): 1. Noah Jensen, 2. Sam Jensen, 3. Tom Jensen, 4. Dan Jensen, 5. Jon Jensen, 6. Larry Spencer, 7. Vince Corter, 8. Hunter Sterner


Novice feature finish (12 laps): 1. Riley Titus, 2. Caitlyn Makarewicz, 3. Connor Shotwell, 4. Sarabeth Mesko, 5. Savannah Romig, 6, Lexus Kutz, 7. Abby McNulty


Bandolero feature finish (12 laps): 1. Easton Houghtaling, 2. John Alaimo, 3. Jordan Smith, 4. Alyson Smith, 5. Kamden Wheeler, 6. Tori Miller, 7. Aria Ligon, 8. Brooke Meyer


Enduro feature finish (100 laps): 1. Mark Spencer, 2. Danny Cascioli, 3. Steven Brooks, 4. Jimmy Ayre, 5. Adam Kratzer, 6. Peter Verwys, 7. Ron Hendershot, 8. Micah Adams, 9. Steve Tito, 10. Kyle Troch, 11. Mark Rittenhouse Jr., 12. Jason Koch, 13. Billy Both, 14. Paul Mercante, 15. Tony Rispin, 16. Kevin Behler, 17. Dan Shrimp, 18. David Baker Sr., 19. Michael Fragola 20. Dan Baker, 21. TJ Kapish DNS: Harry O’Neill

Fairway Chevrolet

Fairway Motors signs on as official Victory Lane sponsor at Evergreen Raceway


(Butler Township, PA 3-2-24) Evergreen is happy to welcome onboard Fairway Motors Inc., as the official Victory Lane sponsor.

Fairway Chevrolet and Fairway Subaru is located at 1101 N. Church St. (RT 309 North) in Hazle Township and has been serving the Hazleton and surrounding areas since 1960.

Their affiliation with Evergreen Raceway runs deep too, working with the 1/3-mile paved oval as a marketing partner dating back to 1988. And, not only has Fairway Motors been behind the speedway as proud sponsor but over the years many of the Company’s associates have competed here as well.

“It’s absolutely great to have Fairway joining us again in 2024 and as our Victory Lane sponsor,” stated track owner/promoter Jason Makarewicz.

“Jim Corazza (Fairway owner) and his whole staff have been so supportive of Evergreen for so many years now and we’ve enjoyed an amazing alliance that has grown well beyond a business relationship and we are so proud to show them off each time a driver wins a feature.” 

Founded in 1960, Fairway Motors opened as Chevrolet dealership in Freeland. With the growth of selling over 500 vehicles within two years’ time, they realized a bigger facility was needed and moved to their present location just outside of Hazleton. In 1984 they added Subaru to their lineup and are now one of the region’s top dealerships. 

The National Auto Dealership Association certified Fairway Chevrolet in recognition of their ethical and fair treatment of their customers. Fairway Chevrolet was also presented with Chevrolet’s “Genuine Leader” award for exceeding Chevy’s standards for sales and customer service. 

Along with Evergreen Raceway, Fairway Subaru is also a key sponsor of the Weatherly Hillclimb.

Evergreen Raceway has already begun racing this year with the recently held Enduro on February 24. Coming up Saturday afternoon, March 16, at 1:00 pm, will be another ‘Gut-N-Go’ Enduro, a 150-lap/$1000-to-win feature for 4/6-cylinder cars presented by The Wire Guys of Hazle Township, plus the popular JuiceBox Division. An 8-cylinder Outlaw Enduro will be held provided 10 or more cars are preregistered by Wednesday, March 13. Grandstand admission is only $5.

More Enduro action follows on Saturday, April 27. Prior to the Enduro an open practice will take place for all weekly and traveling classes. Sunday, April 28 a second open practice will be held in preparation for the Sunday, May 5, Opening Day.

Tour Type Modifieds, Street Stocks, Four Cylinder Stocks, Rotter-and-Forgotten, Juice Box Division and the touring East Coast TQ Midgets are on the Opening Day docket with race time beginning at 2:00 pm. 

Information about Fairway Motors can be found at

For complete up to date news and information please log onto the official Evergreen Raceway website at or on Facebook at

Connect with us on
  • Facebook Social Icon
RockAuto - Gift Certificate.jpg
Thanks to all
our supporters
Fairway Chevrolet
Halliday Trucking.png
Himmer Graphics.png
bottom of page